Who's standing for election

The candidates for the Town Council elections have been published. The Town Council has 12 Councillors in two wards and the whole Council is elected at once. This year, the Town Council election falls on May 7th, the same day as the national elections.

Elections are contested in both wards. In St Johns Ward, there are 7 candidates standing:

ST JOHNS - Nigel Avey (Conservative), Simon Bullough (Labour), Leslie Burrows (Conservative), Hugh Pegrum (Conservative), Grahame Scruton (Conservative), Alan Smith (Conservative), Michael Wright (Conservative).

The Hemnall ward has 12 candidates contesting the 6 Council seats:

HEMNALL - Kim Adams (Liberal Democrats), Dawn Baird (Conservative), Tony Church (Conservative), Inez Collier (Labour), Tony Hull (Liberal Democrats), Curtis Jacoby (Liberal Democrats), Cherry McCredie (Liberal Democrats), Barbara Scruton (Conservative), Daniel Spillman (Conservative), Holly Whitbread (Conservative), Jon Whitehouse (Liberal Democrats).

The Town Council has a number of important projects to deliver in the coming years. The proposed redevelopment of the St Johns Road area is reaching a key stage and the Town Council will have a big say in what happens. The Council will be preparing a neighbourhood plan to influence planning policy to meet the aspirations of local people. There will be significnant improvments to be made at Stonards Hill Recreation Ground.

It's important that your Town Council have the largest possible mandate to work on your behalf to improve the town. So make sure you vote for 6 candidates in your ward for the Town Council on May 7th.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square